Categorized | Press Release

DSWD-7 culminates 69th anniversary; honors partners and employees

The Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) Field Office VII culminated its 69th Founding Anniversary celebration through an awarding ceremony held recently at Vivace Events Center, SM Seaside Complex, Cebu City.

DSWD Secretary Rolando Joselito D. Bautista was the Keynote Speaker of the special event.

In his speech, Secretary Bautista enumerated the accomplishments of DSWD Field Office VII.

DSWD Secretary Rolando Joselito D. Bautista delivers his Keynote message during the Panata Ko sa Bayan and PRAISE awards in FO7’s celebration of the DSWD’s 69th anniversary.

“All of these achievements would not be possible without the dedication and perseverance of all the workers of Field Office VII under the leadership of Director Geamala and of course of allies and established partnership in social development scene. I commend your untiring efforts in ensuring the needs of the poor, vulnerable and marginalized are responded and attended. I hope you continue to become pillars and advocate of change so that tunay na malasakit sa mahihirap at maagap at mapagkalingang serbisyo sa mamamayan be realized on the ground,” said Secretary Bautista.

The celebration highlights the PaNata Ko (Pagkilala sa Natatanging Kontribusyon) sa Bayan Awards and the Program on Awards and Incentives for Service Excellence (PRAISE) Awards.

PaNata Ko sa Bayan Awards is a recognition to stakeholders and partners who have supported and contributed to the implementation of DSWD’s programs, projects and services.

Under the Panata Ko sa Bayan are sub-awards that included Salamat Po Award, GAPAS Awards, Gawad Ulat and Citation to Partners.

Salamat Po Awardees are Norfil Foundation, Inc. as Non-Government Organization (NGO) and Mr. Aniceto and Mrs. Edna Jorolan as Best Foster Parents.

For the Gawad Paglilingkod sa Sambayanan (GAPAS) Award, the winners are the following; Municipality of Moalboal as Model LGU Implementing Kalahi-CIDSS, City of Tagbilaran as LGU Implementing an Outstanding Sustainable Livelihood Program under the Employment Facilitation Model, Municipality of Talibon as LGU Implementing an Outstanding Sustainable Livelihood Program under Micro Enterprise Development Model, City of Lapu-Lapu as Model LGU Supporting the Implementation of Pantawid Pamilyang Pilipino Program and the Cebu City Kalipunan ng Liping Pilipina-Nasyonal Inc. as Best People’s Organization (PO).

Gawad Ulat Awards were given to Cebu Catholic Television Network or CCTN Channel 47 (Most Supportive Television Station), DYHP RMN Cebu (Most Supportive Radio Station), SunStar Cebu (Most Supportive English Newspaper), Superbalita (Most Supportive Cebuano Newspaper), Metro Cebu News Online (Most Supportive Online News) and Ms. Mitchelle L. Palaubsanon of The Freeman (Most Supportive Reporter in Print Media).

Citations were also given to partners for their invaluable contribution to the Department and the following recipients received the awards: ACLC College of Mandaue, Banilad Center for Professional Development, Buddhist Compassion Relief Tzu-Chi Foundation Cebu, Cebu Port Authority, DYRC Aksyon Radyo, Juanito I. King Foundation, Inc., Central Command – Armed Forces of the Philippines, Philippine Coast Guard District Central Visayas, Land Bank of the Philippines (Plaza Independencia Branch), Regional Federation of Day Care Workers (RFDCW), Sunstar Publishing Inc., Helping Hands Organization of PWD, Inc., Wellmade Motors and Development Corporation, Department of Health (DOH-7), International Justice Mission (IJM), Paglaum Training International, Restore Children and Family Services, and the Cebu Doctor’s University – Occupational Therapy Department and the Office of the Civil Defense (OCD-7).

The rest of the recipients who received citations are Dr. Maria Janet S. Porcia, Mr. Victor Sumampong, Jr., Ms. Edwina Quialquial, Ms. Flordemie Villar, Ms. Martha Ricablanca, Pastor Loven L. Largo and Mr. Leo Moises Lison.

While the PRAISE Awards are given to exemplary performers in DSWD. It is designed to encourage creativity, innovativeness, efficiency, integrity and productivity in the public service by recognizing and rewarding officials and employees for their contributions in the improvement of government operations.

PRAISE awardees are Mr. Lloyd Lyndel D. Simporios as Best Social Worker – Community Based, Mr. Robert F. Alcain as Best MOA Worker (Administrative), Mr. Walter V. Manatad as Best Driver, and Mr. Joevane T. Villamor as Best Technical Staff (Professional).

The Social Marketing Section (SMS) was also declared as the Best Support Office. The SMS is headed by regional information officer Leah Quintana. The SMU staff includes the information officers of various programs of the Department namely; Charmaine Camara (Listahanan), Kerwin Macopia (Pantawid Pamilyang Pilipino Program), Venice Polancos (Kalahi-CIDSS) and Ria Micate (Sustainable Livelihood Program).

Under the PRAISE awards is also the Career and Self-Development Incentive Award. This award recognizes those employees who have continually improved their skills and honed their craft in the pursuit of higher education. The awardees for this category are Daisy Lor, Doctor in Public Administration, Norman Jordan, Diploma in Professional Education, and Emmalyn Morada, Master in Social Work.

The Area Vocational Rehabilitation Center (AVRC) II also received a citation for their Knowledge Management Initiative on enhancing the mobility of the orthopedically impaired persons with disabilities and sustaining the partnership with the Cebu Doctors University.

During the awarding ceremony, the Department also gave Loyalty Awards to employees and officials who have rendered 10 years or more of faithful government service.

The loyalty awardee for 10 years is Mr. Christian Dominic P. Diola.

Ms. Timotea B. Gadapan and Ms. Nemesia B. Tumaroy received the award for 15 years of service, while Ms. Josephine C. Belotindos, Mr. Roman S. Bering, Jr., Ms. Analisa R. Cimafranca and Ms. Grace Q. Subong for 20 years.

Ms. Josephine T. Iscala and Mr. Ramcel Gaspar S. Mangila received the award for their 25 years of loyal service.

DSWD-7 confers Loyalty Awards to employees and officials who have rendered 30 years in government service.

The 30 years of service awardees were Ms. Nida N. Cagigas, Mr. Maximino D. Colita, Jr., Ms. Florita Q. Dabon, Ms. Sheba S. Dabon, Ms. Artemia C. Degamo, Ms. Shalaine Marie S. Lucero, Ms. Yolanda C. Oliveras, Ms. Juana E. Palacio, and Mr. Dioscoro C. Pancho.

Retirees were also given recognition through the Service Award and they were Ms. Sheba S. Dabon, Mr. Edward P. Dapiton, Ms. Yolanda C. Oliveras, Ms. Jocelyn C. Salomon, Mr. Vladimir A. Castillo, Ms. Bebiana B. Legaspi and Mr. Basilides V. Omboy.

In the afternoon, the DSWD staff witnessed the cheer dance competition participated in by Red, Green, Yellow, Blue and Orange teams.

The Green Team emerged as the champion while the Red Team, Orange Team, Yellow Team and Blue team placed as runners-up, respectively.

Mr. Jason King Hofilena of Green Team and Ms. Patriz Brigoli of Blue Team were declared as the 2020 Mr. and Ms. DSWDlympics.

The winners of the Knowledge Management (KM) Your Corner was also declared during the culminating activity. The AVRC II got the first place, the SMS in second place and the Crisis Intervention Section (CIS) in third place. ###

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Hits: 0

This post was written by:

- who has written 856 posts on DSWD Field Office 7 Official Website.

Contact the author

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Archived Posts

Posts Category